Hart Doesn’t Skip a Beat

BEAUMONT, CA – The Southern California Senior PGA Professional Championship concluded at Oak Valley Golf Club in a record setting fashion.

Champion Jeff Hart, PGA was consistent over the two day and matched his round one score of 64 in the final round to finish at 16-under par, 128, a two-day total best for the Senior Section Championship. Hart’s record setting play put him six shots clear of the field.

This Championship was first contested in 1960 and the two-day scoring record was previously held by four-time Champion Chris Starkjohann who finished with a 131 in 2010.

With Hart’s accuracy off the tee and pinpoint iron play, he swiftly claimed the tournament scoring record and hoisted The Joe Robinson – Roy P. Denney Perpetual Trophy. Even more impressive was his ability to avoid mistakes, with no bogeys throughout his two rounds of play.

Gordon Leith, PGA of Heritage Palms Golf Club battled with the red-hot Hart coming down the stretch but came up short, posting a second round of three-under par, 69, and a solo second-place finish with a 10-under par, 134. Leith started the day in third place and one-back of the leaders.

Rick Garboski, PGA of the Golf Development Complex finished in third-place after firing a 69 to go with his first round of 66, finishing at nine-under par, 135. Garboski had a critical double-bogey on his finishing hole after airmailing the green and into the penalty area, causing him finish one back from second place. Round one co-leader Scott Mallory, PGA finished in a tie for fourth with a second round 72 and a two-day total of 136.

The 11 PGA Professionals that will be representing the SCPGA in the upcoming Senior PGA Professional Championship are as follows:

Jeff Hart, Gordon Leith, Rick Garboski, Chad Sorensen, Scott Mallory, Paul Dietsche, Jerry Crowell, Mike Fergin, Dave Magdziasz, Ted Parker and Chris Starkjohann.

Alternates, in order: Paul Holtby, Gary Sowinski, Scott McCue, Mark Fernando, Jon Fiedler.

The Senior PGA Professional Championship will take place on October 3 – 6, 2019 at Barton Creek Resort, Austin, Texas.

Special thank you to Oak Valley Golf Club and PGA Professional Ian Ott for hosting the Championship. We are grateful for the Rules Committee who donate their time – Ron O’Connor, PGA, Gary Albin, Lee Wortman, Bill Demint, Skip Whittet, PGA & John Etz. Finally thanks to the partners that continue to support the Senior Section Championship – Yamaga, PGA TOUR, Cadillac, JaniKing, John Deere, Golf Channel & KYOCERA.

Congratulations to the National Qualifiers and best of luck in October.